Austin Democratic Socialists of America

Who We Are

Democratic Socialists of America is the largest socialist organization in the United States and we are in the midst of explosive growth nationally and locally. We are not a political party; we are an activist organization. Our vision is of a democratically run economy and society that gives power to the people rather than the privileged elites. Learn more about us.

Convention 2020 is coming up and you can be apart of it!

Join Today

Simply put, we fight for a better world. Join us in our mission to build a democratically run economy and society that serves the needs of all.

Ready to help make a difference?

The next general body meeting will be 6:45PM-8:30PM at the Parish Hall of the Episcopal Church of the Resurrection on Tuesday, September 17, 2019. See our calendar for more events!

Upcoming Events

October 25, 2020
October 26, 2020
  • DSA National: Jewish Traditions of Socialism

    October 26, 2020  6:30 pm - 8:00 pm

    Jewish Traditions of Socialism

    Monday, October 26th, 2020

    7:30 PM EDT / 6:30 PM CDT / 5:30 PM MDT / 4:30 PM PDT

    Call / Meeting Info

    RSVP: RSVP Here

    Event Information

    From Martin Buber’s reflections on Utopia to the labor organizing and organic intellectuals of the early twentieth century and beyond, Jewish traditions of socialism have helped create a political economy where workers’ dignity and decision making power is prioritized.

    The next discussion in our ongoing series of webinars will feature Rev. Andrew Wilkes and Rabbi Andy Bachman, Executive Director of the Jewish Community Project and former senior rabbi at Congregation Beth Elohim. On Monday, October 26th at 7:30 p.m. ET, they will discuss how Jewish traditions of socialism can inform and inspire contemporary movements of religious socialism.

    See more details

  • Bylaws Committee Meeting

    October 26, 2020  8:00 pm - 9:00 pm

    More Details Coming!

    See more details

October 27, 2020
  • Austin DSA Monthly Reading and Discussion Group

    October 27, 2020  7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
    https://actionnetwork.org/events/austin-dsa-monthly-reading-and-discussion-group-2/

    RSVP here for the Zoom link! https://actionnetwork.org/events/austin-dsa-monthly-reading-and-discussion-group-2/

    Every month, Austin DSA hosts a Reading Group. There is no assigned reading, every participant is invited to discuss and share whatever political readings you've done lately! It's always a lively discussion. Please come with thoughts and links to things that you've read!

    See more details

October 30, 2020
  • DSA National: YDSA Fall Reading Group: Socialists & the Labor Movement

    October 30, 2020  3:00 pm - 4:30 pm

    YDSA Fall Reading Group: Socialists & the Labor Movement

    Friday, October 30th, 2020

    4:00 PM EDT / 3:00 PM CDT / 2:00 PM MDT / 1:00 PM PDT

    Call / Meeting Info

    RSVP: RSVP Here

    Event Information

    Join YDSA members from around the country for our fall semester reading group on socialists & the labor movement! There will be four sessions:

    10/30: Why is class central? (with guest speaker Vivek Chibber)
    11/6: The history of the U.S. labor movement
    11/20: The Rank-and-File Strategy
    12/4: Union organizing & strikes (with guest speaker Eric Blanc)

    Readings here:
    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1JIuJlYDz-LYDOip1Lt9iji6NP0exg-S81Dk0l4mQ2Ns/edit?usp=sharing

    Reading at least the bolded texts in advance is highly recommended, but not required.

    Each session will be formatted as follows:

    1) Introductory remarks by a guest speaker – 10-15 minutes
    2) Open Q&A with guest speaker – 10-15 minutes
    3) Facilitated breakout group discussion – 40 minutes
    4) Whole-group open discussion – 20 minutes

    This will be a great opportunity to hear from experts on the labor movement as well as to meet other YDSA members from around the country, so we hope you can make it and invite other members!

    See more details

October 31, 2020
  • DSA National: Puerto Rico’s Self-Determination: Your Voice Matters

    October 31, 2020  1:00 pm - 2:30 pm

    Puerto Rico’s Self-Determination: Your Voice Matters

    Saturday, October 31st, 2020

    2:00 PM EDT / 1:00 PM CDT / 12:00 PM MDT / 11:00 AM PDT

    Call / Meeting Info

    RSVP: RSVP Here

    Event Information

    Join the International Committee for a panel including Puerto Rican labor rights leader José La Luz, Justo Mendez of Vamos Puerto Rico, María J. Torres-López of Diáspora en Resistencia, Maruxa Cardenas of Our Revolution, and DSA National Political Committee member Austin González on the conditions of Puerto Rico’s right to a fair process of self-determination as outlined in HB8113 cosponsored by DSA’s own Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez. Panelists will discuss why Puerto Rican decolonization is a critical issue for socialists and progressives to be supportive of and why Puerto Ricans need international solidarity now more than ever.

    See more details

  • DSA National: Make Calls to Defeat Spooky Austerity with Maryland State Delegate Gabriel Acevero

    October 31, 2020  2:30 pm - 4:00 pm

    Make Calls to Defeat Spooky Austerity with Maryland State Delegate Gabriel Acevero

    Saturday, October 31st, 2020

    3:30 PM EDT / 2:30 PM CDT / 1:30 PM MDT / 12:30 PM PDT

    Call / Meeting Info

    RSVP: RSVP Here

    Event Information

    DSA is campaigning to defeat Montgomery County, MD ballot question B, a pro-austerity, regressive tax scam that will benefit only the county’s wealthiest property owners. If passed, this ballot measure will starve Montgomery County of the resources it needs to fund essential public services and force the county to enact massive cuts in response to budgetary shortfalls related to the economic downturn and COVID-19. These cuts would disproportionately fall on the working class and those who are most disadvantaged, while the wealthiest property owners would receive tax cuts.

    Join Maryland State Delegate Gabriel Acevero and Metro DC DSA to make calls urging working-class voters to reject ballot question B. Del. Acevero is a DSA member and a leading advocate in the Maryland General Assembly for overhauling policing laws, universal health care and more.

    See more details

  • Spooky Social(ist) Ride: The Spectre of a Good Time

    October 31, 2020  5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
    Auditorium Shores at Town Lake Metro Park Pedestrian Walkway, Austin, TX 78704, USA

    Saturday, October 31, 2020 at 5 PM CDT – 8 PM CDT

    Auditorium Shores

    Public · Hosted by Austin DSA

    Join us for our monthly ride, where we will un-cancel Halloween in a safe, fun and beginner-friendly ride

    More info here: https://bit.ly/37rplxe

    See more details

November 5, 2020
  • Ecosocialist Working Group Monthly Meeting!

    November 5, 2020  7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

    Agenda to come.

    See Slack or email for Zoom link.

    See more details

  • FAC Book Club: No Shortcuts

    November 5, 2020  7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

    https://actionnetwork.org/events/fac-book-club-no-shortcuts/

    Jane McAlevey’s NO SHORTCUTS argues today’s organizers must go beyond mobilization or advocacy in favor of mass organizing, rebuilding unions to redistribute power for change with working class communities. 

    Join our weekly book club, as we work through MacAlevey’s theory of organizing, including dissecting lessons from labor unions & social movements, and discuss how we can use these lessons in organizing for power locally. 

    Book Club is open to anyone in Austin DSA who wants to learn more about organizing, and will take place every other week over Zoom. Meeting dates: 9/24, 10/8, 10/22, 11/5, 11/19, & 12/3, 7:30pm over Zoom.

    Each week we’ll focus on a separate chapter of the book, hosted by a different book club member. Sign up at the Action Network link above to participate, choose a chapter, request a copy of the book, or ask questions! You'll receive the Zoom link upon RSVP.

    See more details

November 8, 2020
  • DSA National: DSA4USPS: Black Postal Lives Matter

    November 8, 2020  5:00 pm - 6:30 pm

    DSA4USPS: Black Postal Lives Matter

    Sunday, November 8th, 2020

    6:00 PM EST / 5:00 PM CST / 4:00 PM MST / 3:00 PM PST

    Call / Meeting Info

    RSVP: RSVP Here

    Event Information

    The Democratic Socialist Labor Commission’s DSA4USPS subcommittee is planning a series of educational webinars on the United States Postal Service. This webinar will explore the significance of Black postal workers and Black liberation struggles to struggles at the post office, including the 1970 postal strike.

    We’ll hear from Mack Julion, National Association of Letter Carriers, President, Chicago; Courtney (CJ) Jenkins, American Postal Workers Union, Organization/Legislation director, Baltimore; Ajamu Dillahunt, APWU retired, Black Workers for Justice, Raleigh; Philip Rubio, former letter carrier, author “There’s Always Work at the Post Office: African American Postal Workers and the Fight for Jobs, Justice, and Equality” (2010 UNC Press) & “Undelivered: From the Great Postal Strike of 1970 to the Manufactured Crisis of the U.S. Postal Service” (2020 UNC Press). Bianca Cunningham, DSA Afro-Socialist Caucus & Labor Notes staff, will be the MC.

    See more details

November 9, 2020
  • Bylaws Committee Meeting

    November 9, 2020  8:00 pm - 9:00 pm

    More Details Coming!

    See more details

November 10, 2020
  • DSA National: Q&A about YDSA

    November 10, 2020  7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

    Q&A about YDSA

    Tuesday, November 10th, 2020

    8:00 PM EST / 7:00 PM CST / 6:00 PM MST / 5:00 PM PST

    Call / Meeting Info

    RSVP: RSVP Here

    Event Information

    Are you a student who is interested in the Democratic Socialists of America but hasn’t joined yet? At a school without a YDSA chapter and not sure about starting one? Are you active in your YDSA chapter but not paying dues? This is the call for you!

    Join YDSA leaders from colleges and high schools across the country to hear about who we are and what we do. This call is open to anyone looking to learn more about YDSA, especially non-members.

    See more details

  • Feminist Action Committee Meeting

    November 10, 2020  7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

    See more details

November 11, 2020
  • DSA National: Socialists at Work: Life as a Rank-and-File Labor Organizer

    November 11, 2020  7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

    Socialists at Work: Life as a Rank-and-File Labor Organizer

    Wednesday, November 11th, 2020

    8:00 PM EST / 7:00 PM CST / 6:00 PM MST / 5:00 PM PST

    Call / Meeting Info

    RSVP: RSVP Here

    Event Information

    At the center of YDSA’s strategy and theory of change is the centrality of the labor movement and the need to rebuild it through democratic and militant unions. As YDSA members we have a role to play in this critical task. However, since YDSA is often focused on campus issues, labor outside of the campus is often overlooked.

    This leaves many YDSA members in a position where they are unsure of how to pursue the socialist struggle outside of their high school and college years.

    Many are faced with the question of what to do next. Should YDSA students take any random job and begin to do organizing on the side or is there a strategic option of entering high-impact fields to build working-class power?

    On Wednesday, November 11th at 8:00 PM ET we’ll be joined by four rank-and-file labor organizers and DSA members to talk about what it’s like to be a socialist at work as a rank-and-file labor organizer in their industry.

    Ashley Payne is a County social services worker, an elected leader in SEIU 1021, and a central labor council delegate. Ashley is also a member of East Bay DSA and is co-chair of DSA’s Democratic Socialist Labor Commission Steering Committee.

    John Pearson RN is an Emergency Room nurse, President of the Highland Hospital Chapter of SEIU 1021, and a member of East Bay DSA.

    Keon Liberato is a railroad worker, President of BMWED-IBT 3012, and member of Philly DSA. Keon also serves on DSA’s National Political Committee.

    Rebecca Garelli is a Science and STEM educator, Phoenix DSA member, founding member and organizer with Arizona Educators United and National Educators United, and a member of the Democratic Socialist Labor Commission Steering Committee.

    See more details

November 16, 2020
  • Austin DSA November Monthly Meeting!

    November 16, 2020  7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
    https://actionnetwork.org/events/austin-dsa-november-monthly-meeting/

    You must RSVP here for the Zoom Link: https://actionnetwork.org/events/austin-dsa-november-monthly-meeting/

    Agenda to come!

    Every month, Austin DSA has a meeting open to members and prospective members. DSA is fighting to build a world where the working class are in charge. Our socialist vision is that if the working class can get political organized, every single person will have high quality healthcare, housing, and good union job. And, only the project of building socialism can stop climate change.

    Our monthly meetings are a great way to keep up with and plug into the work of our chapter. We're currently working on a chapter-wide campaign to Defund the Austin Police Department. We're out at protests and we are organizing to build as much pressure as possible on City Council to defund the police to the tune of $100 Million — or more — and put that money into the social services, jobs, and housing that we need to thrive.

    Stay tuned for a full agenda, and make sure to RSVP in order to get the Zoom Link!

    https://www.facebook.com/events/651091025491631/

    See more details

November 18, 2020
November 19, 2020
  • FAC Book Club: No Shortcuts

    November 19, 2020  7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

    https://actionnetwork.org/events/fac-book-club-no-shortcuts/

    Jane McAlevey’s NO SHORTCUTS argues today’s organizers must go beyond mobilization or advocacy in favor of mass organizing, rebuilding unions to redistribute power for change with working class communities. 

    Join our weekly book club, as we work through MacAlevey’s theory of organizing, including dissecting lessons from labor unions & social movements, and discuss how we can use these lessons in organizing for power locally. 

    Book Club is open to anyone in Austin DSA who wants to learn more about organizing, and will take place every other week over Zoom. Meeting dates: 9/24, 10/8, 10/22, 11/5, 11/19, & 12/3, 7:30pm over Zoom.

    Each week we’ll focus on a separate chapter of the book, hosted by a different book club member. Sign up at the Action Network link above to participate, choose a chapter, request a copy of the book, or ask questions! You'll receive the Zoom link upon RSVP.

    See more details