Austin Democratic Socialists of America

Shane Filiatrault

I accepted the nomination for Membership Coordinator because, simply put, there’s no geographic representation in the organization. Austin DSA represents 12 counties: Travis, Bastrop, Williamson, Burnet, Blanco, Hays, Caldwell, and through claiming Waco, Killeen, and Temple, Bell and McLennan Counties. The current leadership committee represents only one county – Travis. Comrades in the other 12 counties have no voice on the committee. If there’s one thing that is unquestionably essential for a Membership Coordinator to do, it’s to reach out to *all* areas and ensure their representation.

I’m co-chair of Williamson County DSA, the Austin DSA Immigrant Rights Committee, and help run the Austin DSA Marshals. I’ve been working as a member of the Shut Down Hutto Coalition, helping to get as many people and organizations connected as possible to achieve the victories we’ve had in the fight against immigrant detention. I did a lot in Travis county, but recently have stepped back from that to focus on growing the active membership of my branch (20 active and counting!). As a libertarian socialist, I believe that no decision should be made without an understanding of those with a stake in the decision – leaders should raise up voices, not speak for them.

Back to nominees

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *